WHO ARE WE?

ESTABLISHED 2016 BY COSIMA

TO MAKE THE WORLD MORE COLORFUL AND FUN

MADE IN SRI LANKA

BATIK DESIGNS BY BANDU

TAILORING BY THUSHANI

COSIMA

Actually, I just wanted a colorful batik jacket for myself – now I have a fashion label. For me it’s more than just clothes. It’s a lifestyle. I have never kept to the norms and have always done what I felt like doing. I wish that more people would come out of their daily grind and not take life too seriously.

BANDU

Since my childhood I do batik. My sister taught me then. I traveled a lot, also through Europe and offered batik workshops. The harmonious cooperation with Cosima is very important to me. This allowed me to give the women in the area a job – I did not expect that.

 

THUSHANI

When “the white lady” Cosima asked me if I could make a jacket for her, I would not have dreamed what would happen. It was a big challenge in the beginning, but together we have grown, I have more employees and I take care of the cuts and the quality – because that is the highest priority.

The story behind COS ORDINARY SUCKS

Bandu shows you how the colorful, unique fabrics are made.

WHAT IS BATIK?

Batik is a traditional textile dyeing method from Asia. Patterns are drawn by hand on the fabric with hot, liquid wax. The parts covered in wax resist the dye and remain the original colour. The fabrics are waxed and dyed several times. In the end, the wax is boiled and the fabrics shine in full color and beauty.

This makes each fabric unique.

TEAM

COS ORDINARY SUCKS is a collaborative project in which everyone can contribute their creativity and get a fair share of the profit.

Batik

Backrow, from left: Madusha, Wasanthi, Srimali, Cosima, Suriyarchchi
Frontrow, from left: Rekani, Piyuma, Bandu, Kalyani

Tailoring

Back row from left: Ruwanthi, Susantha, Kumudu, Cosima, Thushani, Damayanthi.
Front row from left:  Pradeepa, Sandamali, Kumari.

WER SIND WIR?

GEGRÜNDET 2016 VON COSIMA

UM MEHR FARBE UND SPAß IN DEN ALLTAG ZU BRINGEN

HERGESTELLT AUF SRI LANKA

BATIK DESIGN VON BANDU

SCHNITTE UND NÄHEN VON THUSHANI

COSIMA

Eigentlich wollte ich nur eine Bunte Jacke für mich selber – jetzt habe ich ein Mode Label. Für mich ist es mehr als nur Kleidung. Es ist ein Lifestyle. Ich habe mich noch nie an die Normen gehalten und immer das gemacht worauf ich Lust habe. Ich wünsche mir dass mehr Menschen aus ihrem Alltagstrott kommen und das Leben nicht so ernst nehmen.

BANDU

Seit meiner Kindheit mache ich Batik. Meine Schwester hat es mir damals beigebracht. Ich bin viel gereist, auch durch Europa und habe Batik-Workshops angeboten. Mir ist die harmonische zusammenarbeit mit Cosima sehr wichtig. Dadurch konnte ich den Frauen in der Umgebung einen Arbeitsplatz geben – damit hätte ich nicht gerechnet.

THUSHANI

Als „the white lady“ Cosima mich fragte ob ich eine Jacke für sie nähen kann, hätte ich mir nicht träumen lassen was daraus wird. Es war anfangs eine große Herausforderung, aber Gemeinsam sind wir gewachsen, ich habe mehr Angestellte und ich kümmere mich um die Schnitte und die Qualität – denn die ist höchste Priorität.

Die Geschichte hinter COS ORDINARY SUCKS

Bandu zeigt dir wo die einzigartig bunten Batikstoffe entstehen.

WAS IST BATIK?

Batik ist ein traditionelles aus Asien stammendes Textil färbe verfahren, bei dem Muster und Verzierungen in Handarbeit mit heißem, flüssigem Wachs auf das Gewebe aufgezeichnet werden. Bei dem anschließenden Farbbad wird genau dort die Farbe erhalten. Die meisten Stoffe werden mehrfach gewachst und gefärbt. Am Ende wird das Wachs ausgekocht und die Stoffe erstrahlen in voller Farben und Schönheit.

TEAM

COS ORDINARY SUCKS ist ein gemeinschaftliches Projekt, in der jeder sich und seine Kreativität einbringen kann und fair beteiligt wird.

Batik

Hinten Links: Madusha, Wasanthi, Srimali, Cosima, Suriyarchchi
Vorne Links: Rekani, Piyuma, Bandu, Kalyani

Schneidern

Hinten Links: Ruwanthi, Susantha, Kumudu, Cosima, Thushani, Damayanthi.
Vorne Links:  Pradeepa, Sandamali, Kumari.